There have been inaccurate reports about a new water conservation law taking effect in 2020 that have been causing confusion, and we’d like to take a moment to provide clarity. There is no law that will result in individuals being fined $1,000 — let alone $10,000 — per day for using more than 55 gallons of water per day. Water suppliers are the ones that will eventually be held responsible by the state, not consumers.
Additionally, water suppliers will determine how their water systems meet these guidelines, and when they do, they should assume an indoor usage amount of 55 gallons per person per day (outdoor guidelines are still being established). In a four-person household, that’s 6,600 gallons of water in a month, or more than enough to shower every day and keep doing the laundry.
For more on this issue, see the California Water Boards fact sheet.
APPLE VALLEY HEIGHTS COUNTY WATER DISTRICT
The California Public Records Act (CPRA) was originally enacted in 1968, and requires that governmental records be made accessible to the public upon request, unless otherwise exempted by law. Access to information concerning the conduct of the people’s business by state and local agencies is afundamental right of every person in California.